1081 (September 21, 1972), PROCLAIMING A STATE OF MARTIAL LAW IN THE PHILIPPINES, 1935 CONSTITUTION OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES – CHAN ROBLES VIRTUAL LAW LIBRARY, 1973 CONSTITUTION OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES – CHAN ROBLES VIRTUAL LAW LIBRARY, 1987 CONSTITUTION OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES – CHAN ROBLES VIRTUAL LAW LIBRARY, Grandstands and grand public spaces | Modern Living, Lifestyle Features, The Philippine Star | philstar.com, "How was PNoy's first night at Bahay Pangarap? of a crime only after her term of office expired. 1081 that placed the country under martial law in September 1972, President Ferdinand E. Marcos consistently referred to himself as "President of the Philippines. However, if the presidential election is 18 months away, no special election shall be called. [17], Miguel Malvar continued Aguinaldo's leadership of the Philippine Republic after the latter's capture until his own capture in 1902, while Macario Sakay founded a Tagalog Republic in 1902 as a continuing state of Bonifacio's Katipunan. 7, sec. [29] The Presidential Security Group, which is composed mostly of members from the Armed Forces of the Philippines and the Philippine National Police, is directly under the Office of the President. There have been 15 Presidents of the Philippines from the establishment of the office on January 23, 1899, in the Malolos Republic. Meanwhile, President Quezon of the Philippine Commonwealth resided in the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington D.C. After the restoration of independence, plans were made for the construction of the new presidential residence which would replacing Malacañang in a new capital city. The current government of the Republic of the Philippines considers Emilio Aguinaldo to be the first president of the Philippines. The president leads the executive branch of the Philippine government and is the commander-in-chief of the Armed Forces of the Philippines. The military governors were appointed by the Spanish royals to govern the civil government of the archipelago. Of the individuals elected as president, three died in office: two of natural causes (Manuel L. Quezon[18] and Manuel Roxas[19]) and one in a plane crash (Ramon Magsaysay, 1953–57[20]). BRP Ang Pangulo (BRP stands for Barkó ng Repúblika ng Pilipinas, "Ship of the Republic of the Philippines"; "Ang Pangulo" is Filipino for "the president") was commissioned by the Philippine Navy on March 7, 1959. 7, sec. The president also has other complexes nationwide for official use: The 250th (Presidential) Airlift Wing of the Philippine Air Force has the mandate of providing safe and efficient air transport for the president of the Philippines and the First Family. This Constitution was in effect until the People Power Revolution of 1986 toppled Marcos's 21-year authoritarian regime and replaced him with Corazon C. Aquino. 3. See more ideas about President of the philippines, Presidents, Philippines. Enjoy the videos and music you love, upload original content, and share it all with friends, family, and the world on YouTube. 5, "Konstitusyon ng Pilipinas, art. 9. During its first five years, the president could serve for an unrenewable six-year term. Aguinaldo served from January 23, 1899 until March 23, 1901. [50][51] The house originally had one bedroom,[47] however, it was renovated for Aquino to have four bedrooms,[50] a guest room, a room for his household staff, and a room for his close-in security. Quezon was the inaugural president of a predecessor state to the current one, while Aquino, mère, was the inaugural president of the currently-constituted government. [50][51], Malacañang Park was originally built by former president Manuel L. Quezon as a rest house and venue for informal activities and social functions for the First Family. Her first inauguration also broke precedent as she was sworn in at the EDSA Shrine on January 20, 2001, during the EDSA Revolution of 2001 that removed Joseph Estrada from office. In case of death, permanent disability, removal from office, or resignation of the president, the vice president will become the president to serve the unexpired term. He serve as president until the elections of April 1946, when he was defeated by Manuel Roxas, who became the first president of the independent republic of the Philippines. [15] Aquinaldo subsequently returned to the Philippines aboard a U.S. Navy vessel and renewed the revolution. However, the trial ended prematurely where anti-Estrada senators walked out of the impeachment sessions when Estrada's allies in the Senate voted narrowly to block the opening of an envelope which allegedly contained critical evidence on Estrada's wealth. Aguinaldo was again elected President at Biak-na-Bato in November, leading the Republic of Biak-na-Bato. [8], In 1935, the United States, pursuant to its promise of full Philippine sovereignty,[9] established the Commonwealth of the Philippines following the ratification of the 1935 Constitution, which also restored the presidency. The line of presidential succession as specified by Article VII, Section 8 of the Constitution of the Philippines are the vice president, Senate president and the speaker of the House of Representatives. While the government may consider Aguinaldo as the first president, the First Republic fell under the United States' jurisdiction due to the 1898 Treaty of Paris which ended the Spanish–American War; the United States thus does not consider his tenure to have been legitimate. resigns. Later sought election or re-election to a non-consecutive term. [17][21] Manuel L. Quezon is considered to be the first president by the United States. 1102, announcing the ratification of the Constitution of the Republic of the Philippines. On board were eight people, including two Cabinet undersecretaries and several servicemen. The President shall address Congress at the opening of its regular session. Pardoning power 7. The reason why this country is damned. while he is in office. On January 23, 1899, he was then elected President of the First Philippine Republic, a government constituted by the Malolos Congress under the Malolos Constitution. 10, sec. Diplomatic power 9. It remains unclear whether the term limit of no re-election applies only to the incumbent president or for any person who has been elected as President. [30] He/She may also appear anytime. The four vice presidents who succeeded to the presidency upon their predecessor's death or resignation and finished-out that unexpired term are: 1987 Constitution of the Philippines, art.